Home > Uncategorized > Where Have I Been?

Where Have I Been?

Sadly, on October 1, 2011 I became a victim of identity theft.  More accurately, my business became a victim.  Without going into specific details (because I am now super paranoid) the process of handling the identity theft matter is quite involved:

1.  I had to notate each and every telephone call made relating to the incident.  At last count there were greater than 40 calls made/received.
2.  I contacted the FBI, FTC and Local Police Department(s)
3.  I requested copies of all correspondence I had with others effected by the situation
4.  I contacted banking institutions
5.  I immediately ceased my blogging activities, and slowed down my other social media posts

While a list of 5 items seems minuscule, the bottom line is that I had to spend a few days straightening out a mess that any scamster could do to any one of us no matter how hard we try and protect our identity.  The scam I was a victim of was impossible to avoid as I had ZERO contact with the scam artist.

Here’s the bottom line:  Identity theft can happen to any one of us at any time.  In some circumstances it is IMPOSSIBLE to avoid (i.e. Craigslist Scams – where you are set up as a "straw Buyer").  If you become a victim, you must IMMEDIATELY become proactive and face the issue "head on" as the impact could be devastating to you or other’s effected.  And by the way, don’t look for any help from the local authorities as all they can do is file a report for you —- they are so busy with other complaints that your issue will most likely never make it "mainstream".

It has come to my attention that the exact type of issue that effected my company is happening to another business that is located within close proximity to my business.  This company is also a Real Estate Firm.   Are the scam artists targeting Real Estate Companies?  I hope not!


Rick Schuster

Licensed Real Estate Broker – Jaycee Realty, Inc.
Licensed Title Insurance Agent – Home Guardian Title, Inc.
Licensed Mortgage Broker – Leading Edge Mortgage Corp
20283 State Road 7 – Ste 400
Boca Raton, FL 33498
561-206-2835 – via Google Voice
561-988-2546 -Fax

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

