Home > Uncategorized > Do You Need a Luxury Car to Sell Real Estate?

Do You Need a Luxury Car to Sell Real Estate?

I recently went into “car buying frenzy” mode.  I had this sudden apifany that my Toyota Prius was not worthy of being the car of choice for a Realtor.  While it may sound surprising to you, the car generates a significant amount of road noise (the roads in Florida, being made of a shell and ashphalt mix create an environment conducive to creating loud road noise).

I decided that I need a car that is not as loud.  This was a difficult decision for me because I LOVE my Prius!

I looked at Mercedes, BMW, Lexus, Cadillac, Infiniti, etc.  I drove to every dealer I could think of in Palm Beach County and quickly realized that the road noise generated from my Prius was similar, if not the same, as the luxury cars.

My navigation system, bluetooth capabilities, satellite radio, etc. work just as well, if not better, than the luxury cars I test drove.  So, why was I so hell bent on a luxury car?  Is it because most of my client’s drive them?  Is it because the Lexus ES350 is also called the “Boca Chevy” in Boca Raton, FL and I wanted to be a part of the crowd?  Is it because many of my Realtor colleagues drive luxury brands?  I once knew a Realtor who invested in a Bently to drive around her clients in.  She couldn’t make the payments, however, and had to make alternate arrangements to relieve her of the financial obligation.

One thing’s for sure, the ride in a luxury car is very nice.  If I am going to shuttle around clients then I want to make sure their ride is enjoyable.  Guess what — I’ve never had a complaint about the ride.  In fact, most people comment how nice the car feels and rides.  They have NEVER made a comment about road noise either.  Maybe it’s in my head?

I have had considerable amounts of time to think about this purchase and the obvious really sticks out. The gas mileage is hard to beat!  So, once again, I ask myself, why spend the additional funds just to “keep up with the Jones”?  It doesn’t make much sense to me.  I’m keeping my Prius!

So I ask you, “Do You Need a Luxury Car to Sell Real Estate?”

Rick Schuster

Licensed Real Estate Broker –  Jaycee Realty, Inc.
Licensed Title Insurance Agent – Home Guardian Title, Inc.
Licensed Mortgage Broker – Leading Edge Mortgage Corp

20283 State Road 7 – Ste 400
Boca Raton, FL 33498561-206-2835 – via Google Voice
561-988-2546 -Fax

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

