Home > Uncategorized > Renew Your CDPE Designation?

Renew Your CDPE Designation?

Kudos to Alex Charfin as he and his staff have created the ultimate resourse for Real Estate Professionals who sell Distressed Property.  Alex created a course curriculum and developed a relatively new Real Estate Designation called a Certified Distressed Property Expert (CDPE).

I am a CDPE.  I went to the 2 day course, studied the materials and followed some of the course instructors directions on how to succeed in Real Estate via selling Distressed Properties.  Having processed over 250 short sales prior to taking the course (now up over 500), I feel that my “real life” experiences were a little different from the course study (not surprising due to the variables associated with each lender/short sale).  Over the past couple years however, I have found a few “take aways” benefiting my business.  While I no longer log in to the monthly calls that Mr. Charfin holds (I think they are too “fluffy”), I have found that the information contained on the CDPE website has been handy at times.  Additionally, Mr. Charfin’s interviews with various asset managers and/or banking executives has been insightful.

It is now time for me to consider whether I would like to renew my CDPE Designation.  Many other designations, to my knowledge, do not require you to “renew”.  Once you have been deemed as “designated” you remain “designated”.  The $99 yearly fee to be able to prominetly use the CDPE logo and have access to the monthly calls and website may have some value.  But, for the $99 fee, it seems like they should include a refresher course either via online or in person.  Then all the people who are commenting on the $99 fee (I have spoke n with quite a few) would be provided with additional value and would not have as much to complain about — me included!

$99 is not going to “break me”.  In fact, I’m  100% positive it’s not going to “break” anyone reading this article. The point, however, is that I feel the yearly renewal fee is somewhat unjustified as I have never once gotten a listing from anyone saying, “Oh, you’re a CDPE, let me give you my listing” (if it were only that easy).  With additional training, included in the renewal fee, it would be much easier to justify the yearly expense.

What do you think?


Rick Schuster
Licensed Real Estate Broker – 
Jaycee Realty, Inc.
Licensed Title Insurance Agent – Home Guardian Title, Inc.
Licensed Mortgage Broker – Leading Edge Mortgage Corp

20283 State Road 7 – Ste 400
Boca Raton, FL 33498

561-206-2835 – via Google Voice
561-988-2546 -Fax

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 10, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Rick:

    You make some valid arguments regarding our ongoing $99 fee and the validity of charging for it. The refresher course is an interesting idea however the reality is we are in a market that moves so quickly we don’t believe a once a year refresher is enough. Our answer to this is our monthly member calls and industry broadcasts. For example – we shared the updates on the FTC MARS issues on these calls, the Fannie Mae Short Sale Assistance Desk, the B of A proactive short sale program the HAFA program update and so much more.

    As to your concern with the calls having been too fluffy – I agree – some members loved them but I want all members to love them. We have completely changed the calls in the last 90 days to be shorter, information packed and to the point. We have a predictable format and deliver it in a more engaging way. Content and programming is a constant focus for us.

    As far as not getting leads, I would make a suggestion. Your profile:

    http://www.cdpe.com/profile/view/415

    Is painfully incomplete. Many members are getting a ton of leads from our site but their profiles are updated and look referable like this one:

    http://www.cdpe.com/profile/view/514

    Patty is getting leads weekly – call her and get details.

    Also here are a few other comments from members with the link to our forums (you will have to be logged in to see them but I included details so you can see they are real):

    Jeff Rising said:
    I got a referral through Chase to a homeowner in distress. The Chase bank rep got on CDPE.com and called me to connect me to the homeowner (who was alos on the line) to list their home for short sale. It really works! Make sure your CDPE profile is updated! The other 3 agents within 25 miles didn’t have a photo on their profile and that is probably why I was chosen.

    So did Makiv Moffat:
    I was also contacted by Chase for 2 short sale listings in Queens, New York.

    There are hundreds of posts like these in our member forums – a few are aggregated here:

    http://www.cdpe.com/forum/showthread.php?7386-CDPE-Advanced-members-Leads-from-lenders&highlight=olaya

    Complete your profile and you may be the next CDPE getting a call like this.

    We would love to have you keep the designation! So instead o an annual refresher – take a look a the value we do provide and I think you will realize $99 may be the best deal in the real estate industry.

    Alex Charfen
    President & CEO
    CDPE, Author and Co-founder
    Charfen Institute
    Tangible Results Through Knowledge
    800-482-0335, Office
    888-527-3570, Fax

    http://www.charfen.com/greatjobs

    • August 10, 2011 at 7:58 pm

      Alex:

      Thanks for the thorough explanation. You have created a very valuable service to the real estate community as well as the struggling Distressed Property homeowner.

      Your marketing efforts are extraordinary and are the envy of all.

      I will take your advice and work on my “painfully incomplete” profile. NOTE: I did not obtain the CDPE designation for the purpose of lead generation through your website, however, I see how I could benefit. Thanks for the advice!

    • August 12, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      Alex: I have taken your advice and updated my profile. I have also renewed my CDPE designation. I will follow up periodically to let you know how it goes. Be well! Rick Schuster.

  2. August 10, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I’ve been a CDPE for nearly 3 years now. I renew each year, but I have not taken any renewal classes to keep the designation. If this is the case, it’s something new. As far as the general public goes; they don’t have a clue no matter what your designations are. It’s up to us to educate them. In 25 years, I’ve never had a client say, I love the fact that you are this or that. It’s for your benefit to teach them.
    Good luck!

    • August 10, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks for the comment Honey! I agree that it’s up to us to educate the consumer… Good luck to you as well!

  3. August 10, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    Rick – even if you didn’t originally attend to get leads – take advantage of this! I would also really appreciate your feedback on the new member call format – let m know if we un-fluffed it enough to maintain your interest.

    Alex

  4. August 12, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Sweet! Let me know what you think about the new member call format.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

