Home > Uncategorized > My Son’s “Best Day of the Year”

My Son’s “Best Day of the Year”

Some of you may know that my 9 year old son, Jack, is an avid golfer.  The Golf Channel is constantly on in our home and he is practically glued to the TV when he’s not outside practicing his chipping or putting.

This past weekend, my parents and I had the opportunity to take him to the Allianz Senior PGA event held annually at Broken Sound in Boca Raton.

Anyway, why am I writing about this event?  As usual, there’s a great story with a meaningful message that only a pure 9 year old can teach to an adult.  It’s a message about PERSISTENCE.

Sure, I can write about how Bernhard Langer never gave up and came from 1 shot behind to force a playoff and then sank an Eagle chip from the sand bunker to win the tournament.  That in itself would be enough to justify PERSISTENCE.

Bernhard Langer Wins the Allianz Championship

(PHOTO COURTESY OF WWW.ALLIANZCHAMPIONSHIP.COM)

But Jack’s story is better.  You see, after the winning shot Jack asked my Dad to take him to the scoring tent so he could get Mr. Langer’s autograph.  In the spirit of “YES Attitude” my dad gladly took him to the tent where Jack patiently waited.  While waiting with lots of other kids and adults alike, the Golf Channel was already re-creating the shot to use as an educational video on hitting from the sand.  Jack, in his pure naivete way, interrupted the crew and asked when and how he could get an autograph.  Realizing that Jack had been one of the longest to wait thus far, the Golf Channel Crew obtained the Golf Ball from the winning round that Mr. Langer used and gave it to Jack.    Trying not to burst out of his skin, Jack then became determined to find the Champ and get the autograph on the ball (as well as his hat).  So the search for Bernhard Langer began.  45 – 60 minutes later, Bernard Langer emerged from the locker room at the Broken Sound Old Course and was greeted by, y0u guessed it, Jack!  No one else was around.  No one else wanted to wait for the Champ.  No one was PERSISTENT like my son, Jack.

Can you tell that I’m proud of Jack?  To sit around and wait, while no one else would, shows a PERSISTENCE as well as PATIENCE that seems to have been removed from our society.

I am hopeful that Jack will continue his PERSISTENT nature as he matures into an adult as it’s apparent that it’s quickly become lost in our fast paced, “I need it now” society.

On the way home, Jack said to me, “Dad, this was the best day of the year.” While it’s only February 22nd, I’ll take it that he had a great time.  As far as I’m concerned, it was a great day for me too as I learned that a 9 year old can teach me a lot about PERSISTENCE.

Great job Jack … I’m proud of you!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 23, 2010 at 1:56 am

    What a great experience for Jack! It’s true that anything worth having is worth waiting for. Jack was smart enough to know that this was an opportunity not to be wasted. Most children would have been easily distracted and would have given up out of boredom. I’m proud of Jack for sticking with his plan and reaching his goal!

  2. February 23, 2010 at 2:22 am

    Way to go Jack. Thanks for sharing this. I brought tears to my eyes. I the world we live in patience is a lost art.

  3. February 23, 2010 at 2:25 am

    That’s a story, he’ll be telling his grandson. Thanks for sharing it.

  4. Nanny
    February 23, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Jack has shown persistence before and I have confidence he will continue to do so. I’m proud of you, Rick, and of Jayme as well for doing such a good job in raising an adorable and caring son/grandson. XX Nanny

  5. February 25, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    And I thought just being there to see that Eagle chip shot was awesome… Congratulations to Jack! Special moment, for sure!

    • February 25, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      Alan: Thanks for the acknowledgment! I’m sure that the Championship would not have been the same without your sponsorship — Thanks for help keeping the event in Boca! It will be something that Jack will talk about for years to come…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

